Crime Fiction Awards: The Best in Mysteries, Suspense Novels and Thrillers

List of Awards



Arthur Ellis



Benjamin Franklin

Best Books


Bloody Scotland Crime Novel

Bloody Words

Bruce Alexander


CWA Dagger

Danish Crime Novel

Daphne du Maurier







Finnish Crime Novel


Friedrich Glauser

Glass Key

Grand Prix de Lit. Policière

Grant Allen



Harper Lee

Indie Lit

International Book


Irish Book

John Spray

LA Times





National (UK)

National Indie

Ned Kelly


Next Generation

Ngaio Marsh

Petrona Award

Poloni Prize


Premio Azzeccagarbugli

Premio Fedeli

Prix Mystère


Reader Views

Reviewers' Choice

Riverton Prize



SMM Crime Novel

SMM Private Eye

SMM Traditional

Spotted Owl

Strand Critics

Swedish Crime Novel



Tony Hillerman

Home - ♦ - About - ♦ - Search - ♦ - Omnimystery Home

The Thriller Award

The winners of the Thriller Awards are announced at ThrillerFest, an annual event hosted by the International Thriller Writers organization, to recognize the best books published in this genre from the previous year.


  • Best Novel Nominee:
    • The Fifth Gospel by Ian Caldwell (Simon & Schuster)
    • Playing with Fire by Tess Gerritsen (Ballantine)
    • The Girl on the Train by Paul Hawkins (Riverhead Books)
    • Inspector of the Dead by David Morrell (Mulholland Books)
    • Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter (William Morrow)
  • Best First Novel Nominee:
    • Little Black Lies by Sandra Block (Grand Central)
    • The Drowning Game by L. S. Hawker (Witness Impulse)
    • What She Knew by Gilly Macmillan (William Morrow)
    • Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich (Putnam)
    • The Gates of Evangeline by Hester Young (Putnam)
  • Best Paperback Original Nominee:
    • Day Zero by Marc Cameron (Pinnacle)
    • Against All Enemies by John Gilstrap (Pinnacle)
    • Name of the Devil by Andrew Mayne (Bourbon Street Books)
    • The Angel of Eden by D. J. McIntosh (Penguin)
    • Pockets of Darkness by Jean Rabe (WordFire Press)
  • Best Short Story Nominee:
    • "Feeding the Crocodile" by Reed Farrel Coleman (Jewish Noir, PM Press)
    • "Repressed" by Jeffery Deaver (Diversion Books)
    • "The Water Was Rising" by Sharon Hunt (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine)
    • "El Cambalache" by Terrence McCauley (Thuglit)
    • "Gun Accident" by Joyce Carol Oats (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine)
  • Best Young Adult Nominee:
    • Code of Honor by Alan Gratz (Scholastic Press)
    • The Forgetting by Nicole Maggi (Sourcebooks Fire)
    • Pretending to be Erica by Michelle Painchaud (Viking Books)
    • Half in Love with Death by Emily Ross (Merit Press)
    • The Dogs by Allan Stratton (Sourcebooks Fire)
  • Best e-Book Original Nominee:
    • Jack and Joe by Diane Capri (August Books)
    • The Prisoner's Gold by Chris Kusneski (Chris Kuzneski)
    • Deadly Lullaby by Robert McClure (Alibi)
    • Ivory Ghosts by Caitlin O'Connell (Alibi)
    • Lie In Wait by Eric Rickstad (Witness Impulse)
  • Best Novel: The Fever by Megan Abbott (Little, Brown)
  • Best First Novel: The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh (Spiegel & Grau)
  • Best Paperback Original: Moonlight Weeps by Vincent Zandri (Down & Out Books)
  • Best Short Story: "The Last Wrestling Bear in West Kentucky" by Tim L. Williams (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine)
  • Best Young Adult: Nearly Gone by Elle Cosimano (Penguin Books)
  • Best e-Book Original: Hard Fall by C. J. Lyons (Legacy Books)
  • Best Novel: The Demonologist by Andrew Pyper (Simon & Schuster)
  • Best First Novel: Red Sparrow by Jason Matthews (Scribner)
  • Best Paperback Original: The One I Left Behind by Jennifer McMahon (William Morrow)
  • Best Short Story: "Footprints in the Water" by Twist Phelan (Ellery Queen)
  • Best Young Adult: All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill (Hyperion)
  • Best e-Book Original: The World Beneath by Rebecca Cantrell (Rebecca Cantrell)
  • Literary Silver Bullet Award: Brenda Novak
  • Best Novel: Spilled Blood by Brian Freeman (SilverOak)
  • Best Paperback Original: Lake Country by Sean Doolittle (Bantam)
  • Best First Novel: The 500 by Matthew Quirk (Little, Brown)
  • Best Short Story: "Lost Things" by John Rector (Thomas & Mercer)
  • Best Young Adult Novel: False Memory by Dan Krokos (Hyperion Books)
  • Best eBook Original Novel: Blind Faith by C. J. Lyons (C. J. Lyons)
  • Best Novel: 11/22/63 by Stephen King (Scribner)
  • Best Paperback Original: The Last Minute by Jeff Abbott (Sphere)
  • Best First Novel: Spiral by Paul McEuen (The Dial Press)
  • Best Short Story: "Half-Lives" by Tim L. Williams (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine)
  • Best Novel: Bad Blood by John Sandford (Putnam)
  • Best Paperback Original: The Cold Room by J. T. Ellison (Mira)Review of The Cold Room by J. T. Ellison
  • Best First Novel: Still Missing by Chevy Stevens (St. Martin's Press)Review of Still Missing by Chevy Stevens
  • Best Short Story: The God for Vengeance Cry by Richard Helms (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine)
  • Best Novel: The Neighbor by Lisa Gardner
  • Best Paperback Original: The Coldest Mile by Tom Piccirilli
  • Best First Novel: Running from the Devil by Jamie Freveletti
  • Best Short Story: A Stab in the Heart by Twist Phelan
  • Best Novel: The Ghost by Robert Harris
  • Best First Novel: Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill
  • Best Paperback Original: The Midnight Road by Tom Piccirilli
  • Best Novel: The Patriots Club by Christopher Reich
  • Best First Novel: Improbable by Adam Fawer
  • Best Paperback Original: Pride Runs Deep by R. Cameron Cooke

If present, Mystery Book Reviews by Mysterious Reviews indicates a review by Mysterious Reviews.

Page Author: Lance Wright. Site Publisher: Crime Fiction Awards (Mystery Awards) — The Omnimystery Family of Mystery Websites.

Copyright Notice